Recognized as an international champion of sepsis. He is chair of the Global Sepsis Alliance and key initiator of World Sepsis Day and World Sepsis Congress. He is a member and was chairman of the International Sepsis Forum and a member of the Council of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive & Critical Care Medicine from 2008 to 2013. In Germany, he is member of the German National Academy of Science Leopoldina and Chair of the German Sepsis Foundation. He was Founding President of the German Sepsis Society and its president from 2001 to 2009