Head of the Division of Critical Care Medicine for the Department of Medicine at Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas. She also is Professor of Clinical Medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine in New York, the Institute of Academic Medicine at Houston Methodist Hospital and Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Texas A and M. She serves as the Program Director for the Pulmonary/Critical Care fellowship at Houston Methodist Hospital. She is currently President of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine and serves on several educational committees for SCCM. She has received the Distinguished Service Award from SCCM in 2001 and 2013, the Dr. Joseph and Rae Brown Award in 2015, and the Safar Global Partner Award in 2017